Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Primary Source?
Primary Sources are first-hand accounts or evidence of an event or topic. They are often created around the time of the event and by people who lived through it.
Artwork and artifacts
Audio and video recordings
Blogs and Social Media Posts
Datasets and Research Notes
Diaries and Journals
Drafts of published and unpublished writings (books, articles, etc.)
Letters and Emails
Photographs and scrapbooks
What is an Archive?
Archives contain one-of-a-kind materials such as diaries, letters, and photos that are preserved because these materials have long-term value for research. Archives exist to collect, preserve, and provide access to their research collections in perpetuity.
Types of Archives:
historical societies (eg. Massachusetts Historical Society)
academic archives (eg. Moakley Archive and Institute at Suffolk University, Harvard University Archives)
corporate archives (eg. Coca Cola, Google)
governmental archives (eg. National Archives, town or city clerk's offices)
Moakley Archive and Institute Collections
Moakley Archive and Institute is home to Suffolk University’s institutional archives and special collections. Use the research collections to explore the following topics:
Congressman John Joseph Moakley
United States Congress
Women in the French Resistance
Early history of radio
El Salvador’s civil war
History of Suffolk University
Ford Hall Forum
mix of formats and media (photographs, recordings, scrapbooks, letters, news clippings, dataset, and objects)
divided into categories or “ series” (ie Correspondence, Financial Records, Published Works, Photographs)
might represent one side of the story, you might need to consult other Archives or other collections
What's in a Collection?
archivists create finding aids to help researchers understand the contents of archival or manuscript collection ( see example)
the finding aid, or research guide, provides an inventory of all the materials in a group of records (folders, items, or artifacts)
finding aids also have narrative descriptions of the scope and content of the collection (dates covered; volume of material; significant topics, people, places, or events).