Faculty Orientation: Moakley Archive and Institute

We're located on the 3rd floor of the Sawyer Library. You know you've found us when you see the Ram Book Tree!

Explore Suffolk University’s research collections to learn more about university history, the life and career of Congressman Joe Moakley (JD ‘56), as well as topics including school desegregation in Boston, El Salvador’s Civil War, and women in the French Resistance. Search across all collection materials using the Archives catalog or browse our Digital Collections site.

Collections include:

Suffolk University Archives: includes business records, photographs, audio and video recordings, memorabilia and other materials that document the unique history of Suffolk University. More

Special Collections: includes research collections of notable faculty, staff and alumni

• Congressman John Joseph Moakley Papers

• Ford Hall Forum Collection (see below for link to recordings list)

• Oral History Collections

• Additional Faculty and Alumni Collections

Digital Collections: Browse 2500+ digitized items from the University Archives and Special Collections

The Moakley Archive collaborates with faculty to integrate archives, oral histories and other primary sources into the classroom. Learn more about the resources available to faculty, including:

• Course Development Grants: application
• Instruction Sessions: archival research or content focused
• Digital Collections @ Suffolk support
• Digital Course Content: browse thousands of digital objects online
• Customized Assignments and Student Projects:  (examples)
• Archival Research Tutorials: (Online Tutorial)
• Class Visits to the Archives
• Research Support

Wondering what to do with student work and departmental records at the end of the semester? Take advantage of the Records Management program:

• Guides on what to keep or toss
• Archiving records
• Shredding and Offsite Storage Accounts

Contact: Michael Dello Iacono at 617.305.6277 or mdelloiacono@suffolk.edu