Skip to Main Content

How Do I Find (...) ?: I have to read the article "abc" from the journal "xyz." How do I find it?

Brief tutorials for common assignments that require library research.

Find the Assigned Article

In this example, a student is assigned to find and read the following article:

[Note: the journal title, volume and issue numbers are in bold for instructional purposes. Citation styles do not use bold face fonts.]

Access the 'eJournal' Drop-Down Box, to Search for a Specific Journal

screen shot: Sawyer Library home > ejournal search tab

Select a Database

Some journals are covered by multiple databases, over a variety of date ranges. Users should look for a database that is inclusive of the article's publication date. 

In this instance, the choice was made to use Political Science Complete as an illustrative example.

Other EBSCO databases (Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Communication Source, Medline, PsycINFO, and SocINDEX among others), will all behave in a similar manner.

CITE Button

Capture the article's citation with the CITE button, located in the margin of the article's landing page.

Screen shot: Article landing page > right margin > tools > cite button.

See also: 'What Database has the Article You are Looking For?'

How do I find a specific article that my professor assigned?

 

Flowchart: How to find an article that is cited on your syllabus: 1. use the eJournal search to check if there is access to the journal where the article appeared. 2. Use the eJournal search results to select the database that covers the appropriate date range. 3. Use the database to search within the journal for the needed article.

'eJournals' Search Results: List of Databases Containing a Specific Journal / Magazine

The journal Risk, Hazards & Crisis in Public Policy​, is available through the publisher Wiley, and through the aggregate database Political Science Complete. In this case the choice was made to illustrate this process using  Political Science Complete. 

Screen shot of eJournal search for Risk, Hazards & Crisis in Public Policy

Database Landing Page

After entering the database, users have the option to "search within this publication" for a particular topic.

Screen shot: option to search within the journal Risk, Hazards & Crisis in Public Policy

The "Search Within this Publication" Feature

  • The 'Search within' feature leads to the database search interface, with the journal (JN) title pre-entered as a search concept.
  • Type one search concept per box.
  • The *AND* signifies that all search terms must appear in the article.
  • In the example below, the author's last name is one concept, the keyword epidemics is a second concept, and both must occur within an article from the journal Risks, Hazards & Crisis in Public Policy.

Screen shot: Search within the journal Risks, Hazards & Crisis in Public Policy for (the author) Penta and the keyword epidemics.

Share with the Permalink

Use the Email feature or the Permalink tool to provide a link to share with others. Do not copy the link displayed in the Address Bar, since those links newly generated with each search, and will not be permanent. 

Penta, S., Marlowe, V. G., Gill, K., & Kendra, J. (2017). Of Earthquakes and Epidemics: Examining the Applicability of the All-Hazards Approach in Public Health Emergencies. Risk, Hazards & Crisis in Public Policy, 8(1), 48–67. https://doi-org.ezproxysuf.flo.org/10.1002/rhc3.12112