It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African American Studies Resource Guide: Biography
This guide provides selected information resources in support of BLKST / HST- 469: 'African American Life-Slave & Free.' These resources include both those useful to the study of historical events and those appropriate for researching current issues.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides full-text access to several publications, including the African American National Biography. Over 4000 biographical articles are available to search, or browse alphabetically.
"The Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, ..." It combines biographical essays from over 800 volumes from sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, and Contemporary Black Biography, along with articles from more than 265 publications such as African American Review and Black Enterprise.
This full-text database of The New York Times (1851 - 2009) consists of scanned images of the actual paper. In addition to searches for articles, users can also search for advertisements, editorial cartoons, obituaries (a good source of biographical information), and letters.
This is the online version of the extensive series, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, (the main series, the Documentary Series and the Yearbook Series). The DLB provides biographies of important writers, and aims to include "the larger perspective of literary history..." The volumes are organized by topic, period, or genre. Users may search or browse through the complete online set. Some of the volumes relevant to African American Studies, (also owned in print) are listed below:
This volume compiles data on African American artists and craftsmen culled from exhibition catalogues, reviews, periodicals, and books to span the period of the 18th century slave craftsmen to the time of the volume's publication in 1973.
"A bibliography, with biographical notes, of books by and about Afro-American writers associated with New England in the collection of Afro-American literature, Suffolk University, Museum of Afro-American History, Boston African American National Historic Site." Compiled by Edward Clark, Professor Emeritus of English, Suffolk University, and founder of Suffolk's Collection of African American Literature.
The goal of this volume was to analyze and index the contents of over 250 collective biographies, dating from 1837-1982, in order to provide "references to biographical information on 1900 black American writers," who are not to be found in standard biographical sources. The scope includes not only creative writers, but also biographers, autobiographers, historians, journalists, literary critics, book illustrators, scholars, and bibliographers.
A biographical dictionary of artists of African descent. Each entry includes biographical and career information as well as a brief illustrated discussion of the artists work. The primary focus is on artists of the twentieth century, however some nineteenth century artists are included. African Americans make up the majority of the selected artists, with artists from Africa, the Caribbean and other areas of the African diaspora making up the remainder.
This volume includes biographical information, the full-text of speeches, and background information on the events and people contributing to the circumstances of each speech. The book is arranged alphabetically by speaker, with an ethnicity index, a speech category index, and a keyword index.