African American Studies: Online Reference Sources
- African American Archives This link opens in a new windowProvides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience over several centuries. A product of Ancestry.com.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic eBook publisher on range of historical topics
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowThis is the updated, online edition of the standard reference source for historical U.S. statistics. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of historical information, arranged in broad data areas- population, work and welfare, economics governance. For example, an article on the history of slavery in America links to multiple tables with statistics on the demography and economics of slavery.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford American Studies Center merges several reference sources into a single database. Sources include Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience (second edition); Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; and African American National Biography.
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowU.S. History in Context provides a basic overview of U.S. history, with a broad range of content types: digital archives of primary source material (documents, pamphlets, first-person accounts), encyclopedias, scholarly journals, and audio and video clips of historic speeches and events.
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing, Fourth Edition by Call Number: Access Online, & Sawyer Reference PS153.N5 A3444 2022ISBN: 1637001657Publication Date: 2022-11-30This two volume set highlights the role and influence of African-American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 17th century to the present.
The African American AlmanacCall Number: Online via Gale Virtual Reference LibraryISBN: 1414445474Publication Date: 11th Edition, 2011Covers wide ranging topics such as documents in African American history, employment and income, sacred music traditions, and science and technology.
African American History in the Press, 1851-1899Call Number: REF. E185.2 .A25 1996; Volume 1: 1851-1869; volume 2: 1870-1899.ISBN: 081039555XRecounts African American history "from the coming of the Civil War to the rise of Jim Crow as reported and illustrated in selected newspapers of the time."
Black Americans : a Statistical SourcebookCall Number: REF. E185.5 .B512 2004ISBN: 10486992Includes data collected on demographics, vital statistics, health, education, elections, public opinion, law enforcement, labor force, and special topics such as Black owned firms and housing affordability.
Chronology of African American History from 1492 to the PresentCall Number: REF. E 185.H64 1997ISBN: 0810385732Following a year-by-year day-by-day format, this volume covers all the events of African American history from 1492 through December 1996. The lengthy appendix includes reprints of historic documents.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and HistoryCall Number: REF. E185 E54 1996ISBN: 0028973453This five volume set devoted to the African-American experience. Two-thirds of the essays are biographical articles on African-Americans, the remaining essays are on significant events, historical eras, legal cases, cultural achievement, the professions, sports and places.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History : The Black Experience in the AmericasCall Number: Online at Gale Virtual Reference LibraryISBN: 0028658167Publication Date: 2nd Edition, 2006The revised second edition of the print set below.
Encyclopedia of African American Business HistoryCall Number: REF. HD2344.5.U6 E53 1999ISBN: 0313295492Online access via via ABC-Clio. Covers the African American business experience from 1600s - 1990s. Entries include biographical articles, essays on Black business history, and surveys of Black participation in selected industries.
Organizing Black America : an Encyclopedia of African American AssociationsCall Number: REF. E185.5 .O74 2001ISBN: 0815323093Organized in alphabetical order, the entries discuss the "origins, goals, founders, membership, staff, activities, achievements, and failures" of African American associations.
Reference Library of Black AmericaCall Number: REF. E185 .P56 1997A five volume set which covers topics such as Africa and the western hemisphere, Black entrepreneurship, science and medicine, and African-American firsts.
Voices of the African American Experience [3 Volumes] by Call Number: View full text via ABC-CLIO ebooksISBN: 0313343470Publication Date: 2009-03-20
Voyages: Slave Trade Database, and Accompanying Atlas
Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade by Call Number: REF. G2446.E625 E48 2010ISBN: 0300124600Publication Date: 2010The maps in this volume are derived from the data and records contained in the slavevoyages.org database.- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseSponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and Emory University Libraries, Voyages is a publicly available database of information on 34,941 trans-Atlantic slaving voyages between the years 1514 and 1866. The information has been derived from documents held in archives and libraries on both sides of the Atlantic, and includes vessel names, slave traders and owners, the enslaved peoples, trading routes, ports, and individual names, as recorded at the time.
Books: Online and as Microtext
History of the Negro Race in America from 1619 to 1880: negroes as slaves, as soldiers and as citizens; together with a preliminary consideration of the unity of the human family, an historical sketch of Africa, [...]. Volume I. by Call Number: Sawyer Microtext LAC 20980-81Publication Date: 1883Available at Sawyer Library as microtext, and online at the Open Library.- History of the Negro Race in America. From 1619 to 1880. VOLUME II 1800 to 1880 by George W. Williams History of the Negro Race in America.From 1619 to 1880. VOLUME II byPublication Date: 1883Volume II: 1800-1880. Available online at the Open Library.
