Women's Studies: Selected Print and E-Book Sources

Does a good job of providing introductory overview essays on many issues faced by women, worldwide. Signed entries also include References and Further Readings.

Authored entries cover major challenges to women's rights (Rape, Women in the Military, Forced Marriage, etc.,) and discuss them well. Lists of References are generally extensive.

Instead of discussing issues, the entries in this useful encyclopedia addresses the status of women in individual nations. This is just one volume in a set of six (each cataloged separately, but sitting next to one another on the Reference shelves. See this OPAC list for more on the other region volumes.

Terms, people, NGOs and political action groups--this dictionary will tell you a little bit about a lot of things. Also includes a chronology and an overview introduction.

Entries are relatively short, but cover people and social issues, as well as individual theories.

This book details "break-through achievements of almost 1,000 American women." Fun to browse through.

Want to find a quotation from a notable woman? Check here, and the following....

And the companion volume, from 1800-1981, can be found here.

Choice said "This impressive collection of articles about the state of gender and women's studies encompasses a range of intellectual perspectives and suggests new directions for feminist theory, analysis, and research in the 21st century."

In almost 1,000 entries, this resource aims for currency, not history. It examines women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and going forward. A-Z entries cover the full spectrum of contemporary women's issues in the arts and media, business and economics, health, and other areas, as well as in different cultures and countries. Remember, to explore this and many other eRef books that address gender, search the entire Sage Reference Online database.

The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. Divided into two volumes: Topics and Cultures, it provides topical overviews and varying cultural portraits related to cross-cultural aspects of sex and gender.

Basic medical reference, this encyclopedia incorporates new research, employs accessible language, and offers valuable information on medical concerns facing every age group from prepubescent girls to postmenopausal women. A-to-Z entries include definitions of chronic and potentially fatal illnesses, minor health concerns, and field jargon.

Scholars, journalists, and researchers from around the world in compile primary source documents on gender and sexuality, each accompanied by commentary, key facts, significance, date, type of source, introductory description, brief biography, and further resources, including web sites. Sample entries: "Ain't I a Woman? by Sojourner Truth, Sexual Politics by Kate Millet, the Redstockings Manifesto, lyrics from "I Am Woman," Betty Friedan's The Feminine Mystique and George W. Bush's call for a ban on gay marriage. To explore all of the GVRL database, click here.

Library Journal said "A pioneering collection devoted specifically to the folkways of women, this two-volume set succeeds in amassing the work of academics, folklorists, and others to create a better understanding of the culture of women in North America and throughout the world. . . . Bottom Line: Each article is well researched and well documented, with bibliographic references that add to the work's value. Highly recommended for academic and public libraries. "

This reference book primarily focuses on the late-20th-century US, examining topics related to birth control, abortion, and women's rights. Articles consider not only laws, court cases, political attitudes, technological advances, and prominent activists and organizations, but also experiences of various racial, ethnic, age, class, ability, and religious groups concerning issues related to reproduction. To examine all your options with ABC-CLIO ebooks see this link.

(Also available in print: REF HQ1410 .R43 1998)
Calling itself "the most inclusive book to date on U.S. women's collective history," this landmark work gathers together many articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation’s past. Written by more than 300 contributors, drawn from various areas of expertise. This is one example of the books in the Credo Reference database, click here to explore more.