Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation, Style Manual, and Grammar Resource Guide: Library Citation Manager Software

Library Citation Manager Software

RefWorks

RefWorks is an elaborate tool that allows the user to download, organize and store citations in any number of citation styles, including custom styles and major ones like MLA, APA, Chicago and AMA. They call it "Your Online Research Management, Writing and Collaboration Tool," so it is intended to do more than construct a bibliography. Most researchers enjoy the option of exporting citations directly from databases into their account. To start using RefWorks, please login in for the first time ON CAMPUS, where the program can pick up the Suffolk IP range and assign the new user to the Suffolk account. Then click the option to "sign up for an individual account."

In many databases there is an option to export the citation directly to your RefWorks account. However, RefWorks is a complex tool, so for best results, do NOT wait until an hour before a paper is due to try to figure it out. To step through some educational materials at the RefWorks website, take a look at Tutorial and their Help Area.

Sawyer Library RefWorks LibGuide can be found here. Sawyer Reference librarians also have a nice blog entry on the RefShare module of RefWorks, here.

NoodleBib via NoodleTools

If RefWorks feels too complicated, NoodleBib might be a better option. It steps the user through the process of creating a proper citation. When logging into NoodleBib for the first time, identify as a student, and create a personal ID and password. After selecting a citation type, the software provides field-by-field assistance for every citation element, including all types of online resources.


A student can keep mulitple bibliographies in a “Personal Folder,” which can be shared with others. Contents of bibliographies are automatically generated in alphabetical order. In addition, NoodleTools offers NoodleBib notecards or “e-index cards,” which allow a student to pull out, organize, and integrate research information. Notes may be linked to sources and/or created separately as independent ideas and then organized within the “Personal Folder.”

NOTE: Although RefWorks and NoodleBib are the only web-based bibliography tools that Sawyer Library provides, there are many similar software and websites. Some cost money, but others offer free or ad supported versions, like Citation Generator, Zotero, BibMe, and EasyBib.  Explore available options, but be cautious about downloading software or using systems that are on the open web. When using ANY bibliography software, keep in mind that exports, algorithms, and widgets can make critical citation formatting mistakes. You must evaluate and edit the citations you produce and make sure that they meet the style standards your professor insists upon.