Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation, Style Manual, and Grammar Resource Guide: Print Writing & Citation Style Manuals

Print Citation and Style Manuals

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
REF LB2369 .G53 2009 (Copies at Reference Desk and on often on Reserve)
This is the full guide to the Modern Language Association (MLA) format. This is usually the preferred style used for English 101 and other literature and humanities term papers. The MLA also produces a MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which discusses grammar and publishing guidelines in more detail. However, the Manual is published less often, and therefore doesn't cover the constantly changing aspects of electronic publishing and the citing of non-print media. Therefore, for most students the Handbook is a more useful resource.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 (Copies at Reference Desk and--generally--on Reserve)
The "APA" style is increasingly used in the social sciences. It is especially preferred by Psychology and Communications professors here at Suffolk. This is the extensive guide to APA formating. Related guides (also at Ref Desk) include a Concise Rules of APA Style guide, and a manual for creating scholarly tables called Presenting Your Findings
Style Manual for Political Science
REF JA86 .A52 2006 (Kept at Reference Desk)
From the American Political Science Association (APSA) comes this very slim style guide for government-related writing. The reference examples include unusual items like presidential proclamations and congressional debates.  Look for the online access link on the catalog page.
The Bluebook : A Uniform System of Citation
REF KF245 .B853 2010 (Latest edition at Ref Desk. May also be on Course Reserve)
Compiled by the editors of major law reviews, this citation guide is the bible for legal references and is primarily used by Suffolk's paralegal program.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
REF LB2369 .T8 2013 (Ref. Desk, or on Course/Permanent Reserve)
Often referred to by its original (late) editor's name, if a teacher tells you to do your paper in the "Turabian" style, consult this manual. This style guide uses a more traditional approach, and gives examples of "notes" (aka footnotes), as well as the more modern parenthetical references. It also allows for traditional bibliographies, as well as the "reference list" approach. Published by the University of Chicago Press, this long-standing research guide is closely related to The Chicago Manual of Style, which is a very detailed overview of all aspects of scholarly publishing.
Style Guide / American Sociological Association
REF DESK HM73 .A547 2010
The fourth edition of this very brief (114 page) style manual represents the official word on scholarly style and format for ASA authors.
Style Manual for Communication Studies
REF P96.A68 S89 2009 (Latest edition at Ref Desk)
This manual is geared specifically towards Communication. The author takes the safe road and presents condensed versions of both APA and MLA style. But since both groups have already updated their manuals, you are better off going directly to their style guides.
Scientific Style and Format : The CSE manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
REF T11 .S386 2014
Formerly known as the CBE Manual, The Council of Science Editors produces this guide on scientific writing. This manual covers both general and scientific publication styles and formats for all forms of scientific writing. The text includes many examples of recommended styles, cross-references and summary tables. It presents both American and British preferences.
The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information
REF QD8.5 .A25 2006 (Ref Desk. Often also on Course Reserve)
This guide details scientific writing and citation according to the American Chemical Society. This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist scientific, technical, and medical (STM) writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet.
Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law
REF PN 4783 .A83 (Latest edition often at Ref Desk and/or on Course Reserve)
Here is a style guide specifically for journalistic writing. Most of the content relates to standard English usage in general reporting. However, there are sections for specific types of reporting (like sports writing), as well as a section of media law that covers issues like libel and copyright.
The Business Writer's Handbook
REF HF 5726 .B874 2012 (Latest edition in Reference, but also often on Course Reserve)
This manual for business writing includes lots of grammar tips, as well as examples of specific business documents from "progress and activity reports" to proposals.
A Pocket Style Manual
REF PE 1408 .H26 2009 (Latest edition often on Course Reserve)
Author Diana Hacker writes this short manual to help students with, as the subtitle ungrammatically indicates "clarity, grammar, punctuation and mechanics, research, MLA, APA, Chicago, usage/grammatical terms." Used mostly for English courses, the latest is usually only on Reserve. However, earlier editions--fine for grammar, but unreliable for citation formats--are often in the stacks.
Cite Right
REF PN 171 .F56 L55 2011 (Kept at Reference Desk)
Here's another guide that gives you a brief overview of mulitiple citation formats. In fact, its subtitle is "a quick guide to citation styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more." It is published by the University of Chicago Press, creator of the aforementioned Turabian and Chicago Manual of Style.