Database Accounts
A great many of our databases allow you to save searches, set up alerts and personalize the database in other ways. Use your university email account to set up this access when it seems appropriate. Any questions about your personal database accounts are best routed to the vendor directly, though librarians are always happy to help.
- A-Z DatabasesSee our A-Z database list to explore which personal database accounts you may wish to setup.
Publisher Support Materials
Some scholarly journal publishers also create useful publications for academic researchers. These are usually targeted to publishing with them or using their resources to their full potential. Explore database help screens and publisher websites to find these materials.
- Charting a Course for a Successful Research Career - 2nd editionElsevier calls this "a crash course on how to plan a research career." Designed for new researchers, it explores everything from grant applications to supervising and mentoring.
- How to Get Published: A Guide to Publishing in Scholarly JournalsThis publication addresses the whys and hows of publishing in an Elsevier journal, specifically.
Library Databases Useful to Faculty
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)Journal Citation Reports "helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals." It specifically measures the "Impact Factor" (IF) of journals.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science offers several citation indexes, including SSCI, BIOSIS and SciELO. SSCI is contained within the "Web of Science Core Collection".
- RefWorks Proquest This link opens in a new windowSet up a personal account while on campus to use this citation management tool.
Note: This system will be retired October 2024. Consider an alternate tool, such as EndNote or NoodleTools.
Selected eBooks on Writing
Besides print books that can help with everything from citation formatting to your specific research topics, we also have many e-books that are available 24/7. See selected e-books, below:
- Every day I write the book : notes on style"Alongside Kumar's interviews with an array of scholars whose distinct writing offers inspiring examples for students and academics alike, the book's pages are full of practical advice about everything from how to write criticism to making use of a kitchen timer. Communication, engagement, honesty: these are the aims and sources of good writing. Storytelling, attention to organization, solid work habits: these are its tools..."
- Write no matter what : advice for academics"Jensen introduces tools and techniques that encourage frequent, low-stress writing. She points out common ways writers stall and offers workarounds that maintain productivity. Her focus is not on content, but on how to overcome whatever stands in the way of academic writing. Write No Matter What draws on popular and scholarly insights into the writing process and stems from Jensen's experience designing and directing a faculty writing program..."
