Skip to Main Content

Continuity of Learning Services at Sawyer library: E-Resources

This guide provides information about the Library's online services for faculty, staff and students during the Covid-19 disruptions.

General Info

The Sawyer Library provides a rich and ever-growing online collection of library resources including:

  • over 300,000 ebooks
  • 70,000 online journals and newspapers
  • 60,000 streaming videos
  • 2 million high-quality images
  • data resources across all disciplines and needs. 

Whatever you are used to accessing from on campus can be accessed from off campus as well. Use your Suffolk username and email password to use virtually everything the library offers online, from JSTOR and EBSCO, to Mergent Online, to our largest streaming video platform AVON.  To familiarize yourself with these resources, please visit our A-Z database list or our databases by subject list.

New York Times Instructions

Step 1: Navigate to https://ezproxysuf.flo.org/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir. Log in with your SU network login and password.

Step 2: At the New York Times Pass site, click "Create Account"

Step 3: On the "Create your complimentary account" page, complete the "use your email" fields and click "Create Account".

You must use your @suffolk.edu email address.

See instructions below "If you have a Current Paid Subscription", if you have previously used your @suffolk.edu email address to register a paid NY Times account, and now would like to take advantage of the University sponsored access.

Step 4: Choose the radio button that represents your connection to Suffolk University.

Students will enter expected graduation year and an alternate email address, then click "Sign Up".

Faculty and Staff will simply click "Sign Up".

Other/Non-Academic is not currently in use at Suffolk.

Confirmation & Expiry: New York Times will confirm your account is activated on the next screen, and will display your renewal date. You also have the ability to set a calendar reminder on this page. Click "Get Started" to navigate to the NY Times homepage.

If you have an existing New York Times Account:

If you have previously registered your @suffolk.edu email address on The New York Times site, you will click "Log in here" below the Create Account button link for Step 2.

new york times login


If you have a Current Paid Subscription:

Anyone with a paid account using their @suffolk.edu address who wants to switch over, must first deactivate their subscription, and wait for their subscription to expire.  That will "free up" the email address.

To cancel an existing PAID subscription, contact New York Times Customer Care at: customercare@nytimes.com or 800-591-9233.

Once your email address is available, you may follow the steps above, but instead of clicking "Create Account" click the link below ("Already have an account?  Log in here") and login with your @suffolk.edu email address.


Troubleshooting

If you run into issues while trying to access the New York Times via the Suffolk site license please email us at sawlib@suffolk.edu. You may also visit the NYT Help page, email their support at: edu@nytimes.com, or call them at 800-753-7795.

 

Readers can take advantage of comprehensive news coverage plus the following features useful for research, instruction and entertainment:

  • Online archive (dating back to 1851) 

  • NYT in Education website (includes 16 discipline-specific areas of study, discussion prompts, learning outcomes, Instructional Strategies, and Co-Curricular Activities), register separately here with @suffolk.edu email  

  • Interactive media (graphics, charts, maps, polls, custom content) 

  • Video library (spanning all sections) 

  • Accessibility features and multi-lingual content (English, Spanish, and Chinese) 

  • NYT app for mobile devices 

  • NYT AR / VR / 360 content 

  • NYT “Watching,” NYT Cooking App and Podcasts (including the "Daily" podcast, “Caliphate,” and “Dear Sugars”) 

  • Newsletters (there are a variety of topics that you may subscribe to) 

  • Article history and Save options (across platforms) 

 

Academic Passes need to be renewed periodically from the date of initial registration, and the renewal period varies. Please note the expiry date at account setup, since you will not be notified that your access has expired. If you are seeing a message about hitting your limit of "free articles" while viewing the The New York Times online, it's probably time to renew.

From on-campus, visit NYTimes.com/GroupPass to renew your account. Log in with the Suffolk University email address and password you used during the initial registration. Follow the on- screen instructions to complete the process.

Special thanks to Loras College Library for creating the original guide.

Unless otherwise noted, the content of this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Sign-up for a Free Chronicle of Higher Education Account

Suffolk students, faculty, and staff can create user accounts to the Chronicle of Higher Education site with following instructions:  

1. Go to https://www.chronicle.com/ and click the "Sign In"  link at the top right of the page.  

 

2. Then, click on the "Sign Up" link

3. Create a free account using your Suffolk University email address.  You will also have the option to sign up for The Chronicle’s free email newsletters during the registration process. 

 

4. After these steps, you will receive an email from The Chronicle to confirm your email address and activate your account.

Access the Chronicle of Higher Education Off-campus

Suffolk students, faculty, and staff can access the Chronicle of Higher Education off-campus using the following instructions:  

1. Go the Sawyer Library Homepage and select the Databases by name under the Databases Tabundefined 

 

2. Click the letter C and then select the Chronicle from the Results

undefined

3. Click through to the Login Screen and type your Suffolk email and password

 

4. Browse articles! Or, type your Suffolk email and password into the Chronicle's login screen to access individual account features.