SBS 101 Business Foundations: Wall Street Journal

In addition to the link to the WSJ database above, Suffolk University users will also find the Wall Street Journal listed within the A-Z Database List, and within the Databases by Subject list, under both 'Business > General Business,' and 'General > News.' 

All of the ProQuest databases below share a similar search interface. By becoming familiar with one, users will also be familiar with the others.

The Wall Street Journal database landing page offers three search options:

• A simple search within the publication.
• Select a date to browse articles in page order.
• Advanced search

In this example, the choice was made to use the Advanced Search to look for articles on the delivery services company FedEx. 

• The 'pubid' (publication identification number) is pre-entered into the first search box. It designates the Wall Street Journal. To ensure that search results are limited to articles from the Wall Street Journal, this search box should be left as is.
• The search term, Fedex, is typed into the second search box.
• The AND designates that the search terms of both search boxes must appear in the resulting articles.
• The "Anywhere except full text - NOFT" designation means that the term Fedex must appear in the higher weighted portions of the article, for example the article's title, the leading paragraph, or the abstract / summary of the article.

The Wall Street Journal search results are automatically displayed with the most recent articles first. Users may choose to re-sort the display by relevancy. 

The CITE button on the article's landing page compiles and formats the information needed to cite the article. This includes:

• the article's author
• the article's title
• the date of publication
• the name of the publication (in this case, the Wall Street Journal.) 

• Business students are advised to use the APA style of citation.
• Make sure the citation style is selected for APA.
• If necessary, use the drop-down box to scroll up, in alphabetical order, to find the APA 6th edition.

Place phrases in quotation marks, to keep the words adjacent to each other in the search results. If a phrase is pulled apart, then the search terms may appear in unintended contexts. 

In this example, a search for online orders without quotation marks, retrieved results discussing evacuation orders and online shoppers.

The AND requires that the concept in the search box appears in each search result. Entering just one concept per box enables users to maximize the database's search features.

• Occasionally, one concept may be described by two or more terms. In that instance, the OR designates that either term is acceptable.
• Phrases should be placed within quotation marks in the ProQuest databases (The Wall Street Journal, ABI-Inform, The Boston Globe.)
• Manipulate the relative importance of the search terms, by determining where in the document the search terms must appear. By using the location drop-down function, users may choose to give more weight to certain search terms (Anywhere except the full text), while allowing for other terms to appear anywhere in the text.