Featured E-Books
The Global Competitiveness Report by Call Number: REF HF1414 .G559This publication, produced by the World Economic Forum and Oxford University Press, is available online as part of the World Economic Forum's Centre for Global Competitiveness and Performance. It includes competitiveness indexes, regional analysis, country profiles, and data tables with country rankings.
Atlas of Global Development by Call Number: Online at ProQuest E-Book CentralISBN: 0821397575Publication Date: 2013
Sample Topic: Comparative Health Care Systems
Health Care Systems Around the World by Call Number: View full text via Sage KnowledgeISBN: 1452203121Publication Date: 2013-08-23
Country Information: Online Reference Sources:
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowSuccessor to Country Commerce (EIU)
Assess global dynamics with insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment. Successor to Country Commerce (EIU) - Euromonitor International Passport (Passport GMID) This link opens in a new windowAs part of its international market research, Passport includes extensive country and consumer profiles.
- Europa World This link opens in a new window
This is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, which covers "political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe." Note the comparative statistics section, which allows the comparison of two or more nations in the areas of agriculture, industry, finance, trade, and education. - Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowLook for the "Browse Map" button, in the mid-screen banner, to get a comprehensive list of countries. Overview essays and selected articles are available.
- Euromonitor Blog: Analyst InsightsRead interesting posts from the analysts at Euromonitor on industries, companies, international markets, and business trends.
- IMF e-Library This link opens in a new windowThe IMF eLibrary covers topics relating to globalization, development, and the repercussions of financial and health crises.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowMergent Online is primarily used to find financial information about publicly traded companies. However it also has profiles for most countries. Select: the 'COUNTRY INSIGHTS' tab, and also try the drop down box on the lower left of the opening screen:
The Library has a license for three simultaneous users; please "log out" when you have completed your research.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Contains publications produced by the Organization for Cooperation and Economic Development. Journals include the OECD's Economic Surveys.. Also includes theme based reports, such as lessons learned from natural disasters, or causes and effects of migration.
- OECD iLibrary: Tutorials on YouTubeThe OECD's YouTube tutorials offer tips on navigating OECD iLibrary, and provides several videos presenting facts taken from the content of the iLibrary.
- World Bank Group: Doing Business Project"Doing Business provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 190 economies."
Video Tutorial on Finding Country Information
- Globalization SIB 101: Find Information on Countries23 minute video tutorial on finding country information, as it relates to globalization.
