Last Updated: Mar 28, 2016
Key Concepts in Marketing
Provides good, concise essays on "the key issues, methods, models and debates that define the field of marketing today." Topics include marketing audits, product life cycle, and channel management.
- Boston Business Journal / Bizjournals Online
Bizjournals Online provides local business news from major metropolitan cities across the country, and most notably for New England, it provides access to the Boston Business Journal. Coverage is from 1996 to the present.
- Boston Business Journal's Book of Lists, online.
A special publication of the BBJ, the Book of Lists compiles ranked listings of Boston area businesses, in a variety of corporate and nonprofit categories.
- Boston Business Journal in Print
The Sawyer Library maintains the most recent two years of the print version of the Boston Business Journal.
- Book of Lists
The Sawyer Library owns the hard copy of the Book of Lists from 1994 to the present.
- Boston Business Journal Website
The BBJ website (http://www.bizjournals.com/boston/) provides some free content, but most requires subscription.
- Euromonitor International: Passport
Produced by Euromonitor, this database provides very detailed international market research, presented as industry, company, country, and consumer reports. Although difficult to use, users may find detailed reports on specific subsets of industries throughout the world, such as the market for ice cream in Finland.
- Euromonitor Blog: Analyst Insights
Read interesting posts from the analysts at Euromonitor on industries, companies, international markets, and business trends.
- MRI+ Mediamark Reporter (Renamed to GfK MRI University Reporter, in 2016)
MRI Mediamark (for product and brand demographics) has a new name and new registration procedure:
MRI is now "GfK MRI University Reporter." Users must register using their suffolk.edu
email. A registration code
is required which will be made available by contacting the Sawyer Library. Users will need to register once every 6 months
; trigger dates are June 30th and December 31st. At the beginning of each calendar year, GfK MRI will issue new codes which are valid for 12 months.
- SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service) Consumer Media Advertising Source
SRDS provides rates & circulation statistics for ads in magazines and 'out-of-home' media (e.g., airports, taxis). The online version (use Internet Explorer!!!
) also includes the "Local Market Audience Analyst Overview," a tool for demographic and lifestyle market research. Other print sources include the Consumer Media
- Business Source Complete (BSC)
Run a search for a company name, or industry keywords, and then from the left hand menu, limit the results by source type.
"Market Research Reports" and/or "Industry Profiles" may be available.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Search by industry keyword or NAICS code to generate extensive industry reports, or use the Comparison Charts to compare industries.
DemographicsNow allows users to build a report on the statistical characteristics of a specific population. Demographic data categories include income, housing, race, age, education, consumer expenditures, - factors useful in determining where you should locate your business.
- Tablebase (part of the RDS Business Suite)
Tablebase pulls tabular and statistical information from several sources, and because of the nature of its tabular-format contents, Tablebase can be a good source of market share, sales, and product ranking information. For example, keyword searches such as "top AND ice cream brands" will bring documents such as "United States top 10 ice cream brands ranked by dollar sales, dollar share, and percent change for year ending January 23, 2011"
- S&P NetAdvantage: Industry Surveys
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys covers 52 major U.S. industries including Advertising
. The survey discusses 'how the industry operates;' recent trends, and key financial statistics. See the Global Industry Surveys (under the main Industry tab) for a 2011 report on Advertising in Europe.
- First Research (Industries)
First Research contains a profile of the advertising and marketing industry
, which includes recent trends, challenges, opportunities, and benchmark financial information.