LibGuides: Economics Resource Guide: Think Tanks & Metasites

Library database: Policy File Index

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Find information on both sides of a public policy debate. Search and access reports from over 300 active think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups.

Websites

American Economic Association data deposits
The Brookings Institution
"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. [...] Research topics cover foreign policy, economics, development, governance and metropolitan policy."
Economic Time Series Page from Economagic
Provides over 100,000 economic time series, for which data and charts can be retrieved. Data can be charted with comparisons, and Excel files are also available. Majority of data sets involve U.S. macroeconomic data from the Federal Reserve, Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and the Department of Commerce. Includes stock price indexes and information from foreign banks, such as the Bank of Japan and the Central Bank of Europe.
The International Economics Network
Maintained by Jamus Jerome Lim, this site provides a portal for international economics. Broad topics offered include politics, law, finance, and development. Also links to research papers (some full-text).
RePEC IDEAS
The largest free bibliographic database devoted to economics on the Internet. This site is part of RePEc (Research Papers in Economics), a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 75 countries, seeking to enhance the distribution of research in economics.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
Sponsored by the American Economic Association, this site lists well over 1,000 internet resources of interest to academic and practicing economists.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is an Open Access repository containing scholarly research in the social sciences and the humanities. Most papers are available for free downloading. Authors and papers are ranked by the number of downloads. Includes accounting, management, economics, and law topics, among others.