Economics Resource Guide: Books & E-Books worth reading!

Provides information about the ideas, institutions and organizations, events, and people that have shaped the history of business, labor, and economics from the seventeenth century to the present.

Available free online at FDsys.
An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. Provides an overview of the country's economic progress, using text and extensive data.

Available online through International Monetary Fund Statistical Database.
Contains balance of payments data for 160 countries and investment position data for 37 countries. Information is presented in regional and world tables.

Available online via the IMF Statistical Database.
REF HG61 .I57 (print)
Excellent source for statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.

REF HJ101 .G68 (print)
Available online via the IMF Statistical Database.
Provides world, country, and institutional tables for government operations. Data includes revenues, expenditures, and debt.

Available online through Oxford Reference
REF HC15 .094 2003 (print)
Covers all global economic history from earliest times to modern times and includes the entire material existence of human history. Includes nearly 900 comprehensive entries, arranged alphabetically under broad topics. Articles are written by academic experts and include extensive bibliographies.

REF HB3743 .R67 2012
Offers descriptions of recession-related players and events and provides an understanding of this major rupture in the modern economy.

REF HA203 .668 2013
An annual publication providing statistical information "for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and for all cities of the U.S. with a 2,000 population of 25,000 or more." Includes data on population, housing, vital statistics, health, crime, education, income, employment, industry, and more.

REF DESK HC103 .F9 2011
Provides concise explanations for 70 statistical measures of the U.S. economy.

REF K487 .E3H37 2011
Covers terms and controversies in law and economics and basic economic applications to broad areas of the law, such as criminal, tort, and government regulation.

REF HC15 .B355 2010
Covers topics such as accounting, the Great Depression, electronics, the U.S. Civil War, India, and Karl Marx. provides in-depth entries on events, themes and people that have shaped the modern world and economics. Offers detailed indexes.

REF HA203 .S74 2013
Includes individual state data on wages, income, employment, industry, government finances, energy consumption, taxes, population totals, and more.

Online from the US Census
Issued annually by the U.S. Census Bureau, this reference work provides statistics on social, economic, and political aspects of American life.