Federal Government Websites
- Congress.gov
Formerly Thomas Legislative Information service, this site includes full-text bills and public laws from the 93rd Congress to the present Congress; the Congressional Record from the 101st Congress to the present Congress; Committee Reports from the 104th Congress to the present Congress; and selected government links.
Includes roll call votes from 1989 to the present.
Offers Bill Search- Search text, summary, and status from 1989 to Present and
Public Law Search - Search and browse Public Laws from the 100th Congress to the Present. - Federal Digital System (formerly GPO Access)The Federal Digital System (fdsys) provides free access to official, published information produced by the Federal Government. Some of the searchable databases included in fdsys are:
- Code of Federal Regulations from 1996
- Federal Register from 1994
- Public and Private Laws from the 104th Congress
- U.S. Code from 1994
- Congressional Record from 1994
- History of Bills from 1983
- Code of Federal Regulations from 1996
- The Federal Judiciary. U.S. CourtsThis site is the official website of the Federal Judiciary. It provides general information on federal courts plus links to cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Courts of Appeals, U.S. District Courts, and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts. Court information is extensive. The Court's caseload statistics page offers extensive statistical data. In addition, this site offers texts of Judicial Conference Proceedings.
- Supreme Court of the United StatesThe website of the highest court in the United States offers fulltext Opinions, including Slip Opinions, text and audio Transcripts, Docket , searching and much more.
- National Center for State Courts (NCSC)The website for the National Center for State Courts (NCSC) provides state court statistics, with comprehensive data by type. Browse by Topic or State.
- The Federal Judicial CenterThe Federal Judiciary Center is the education and research agency for the Federal Courts. This site provides a Federal Judges Biographical Database, which contains the service record of all judges of the U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Circuit Courts, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, and the U.S. Supreme Court since 1789. The database is searchable by a vast array of criteria: chief judges, court, court type, nominating president, party of nominating president, nomination date, retirement date, termination date, gender, and more. Texts of landmark judicial legislation are included. The Center's publications are free for downloading.
- Guide to Law Online. Law Library of CongressPrepared by the Library of Congress, these guides cover online sources of information on government and law across multiple contexts. Covers federal, state, and international sources.
- Laws and Regulations – General Reference Resources USA.GovLinks to Federal laws, regulations, presidential documents, cases, treaties, and state laws and regulations.
- National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceNCJRS is a federally sponsored information clearinghouse for research, policy, and law related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. It provides statistics on crime, criminal courts, police, and prisons.
- Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)The SEC regulates and enforces securities laws of the United States. The website includes texts of SEC company filings, laws and regulations, proposed and final rules, commission opinions, congressional testimony, and much more.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark OfficeOffers searchable full-text patents since 1976; full-page images since 1790; and applications since March 2001. Also, allows searching of pending and registered trademarks.
- U.S. Federal Sentencing Guidelines ManualsProvided by the United States Sentencing Commission, this is the full-text of current guidelines and amendments.
- U.S. Department of Education. PolicyThe Department of Education's policy website which covers legislation, regulations and policy guidance.
- U.S. Citizenship and Immigration ServicesProvides immigration forms, naturalization and asylum information, directions for obtaining Green Cards, and citizenship laws and guides
