Paralegal Resource Guide: Commercial Legal Websites

FindLaw is one of the better free legal resources on the web. Owned by Thomson Reuters, this site provides a subject guide to internet legal resources and searchable federal case law. U.S. Supreme Court opinions are available from volume 150 of the U.S. Reports (1893) to the present. Hyperlinks link citations to earlier cases. Supreme Court cases can be searched by party names, citation, and full-text. Findlaw also provides useful links to state legal resources - state constitutions, codes, court rules, and state Supreme Court and Appeals decisions. Links to law reviews and legal news are provided. The site offers a lawyer directory searchable by area of law and by state. It also includes legal subject guides, which explain law topics. Use Research the Law to search cases, codes, and articles.

LawGuru serves as a legal information gateway and provides a vast array of legal links. Its Legal Research Tool offers a portal of over 535 free legal research engines and tools. Its Multiple Research Tool allows multiple searching of state codes and cases. Includes the Internet Law Library which offers links to state, federal, and international law. LawGuru provides a page of links to free legal forms, a legal Wiki, news, and more.

HierosGamos is a huge legal information portal, offered in over 50 languages. It provides links to federal and state law, international law, legal associations, and legal education. Its Practice Areas includes links to U.S. and statecourt cases, associations, commentary, and more. Offers links to web legal directories of law firms, experts/consultants, mediators, and private investigators.

A comprehensive index of thousands of select websites concerning law and the legal profession. Attempts to include only quality sites. Links to a large archive of free legal forms, law school information and rankings, professional associations, firms, and news. Offers the use of LawRunner - a Legal Research Tool, "which is an intelligent agent-based front-end interface for Google." LawRunner is divided into a World Index and a USA Index.

Provided by LawSource, Inc. as a public service. The site offers a compilation of links to free online sources of the law for the United States, Canada, and Mexico. Includes commentary and practice aids.