Paralegal Resource Guide: Selected Print & Online Resources

Career Q&A video interview on 'What is it like to be a Paralegal?'

SAWYER FALL RESERVE: LAWU 301
The major source of rules for citing U. S. legal documents and law journals.

REF. KF246 .B46 2009
Provides meanings for abbreviations and acronyms used in legal literature. Also, provides a reverse dictionary of abbreviations for terms from legal literature.

REF. KF246 .P73 2011
Assists "the legal profession in citing legal authorities according to the rules given in The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation, Nineteenth Edition (2010)."

REF. DESK KF156 .B53 2014
Standard authority for legal definitions.

This hornbook provides guidance and coverage of all aspects of federal court jurisdiction and litigation procedure, plus the relationship between the state and federal courts. Discusses the federal judicial system; U.S. judicial power; venue; pleadings, trials, judgments; appellate court and Supreme Court jurisdictions, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Online
A comprehensive reference series which covers legal concepts and information and contains landmark documents, acts, famous trials, and historical events

REF. KF170 .D52 2002
This two-volume loose-leaf contains model forms, agreements, and checklists in the areas of real estate, corporations, wills and trusts, and family law. Updated.

Gale Virtual Reference Online
Provides an overall view of the most controversial legal topics in the U.S. Topics are presented in chart form to allow users to make state-by-state comparisons of current state laws.

Sawyer Library holds a number of titles in West's well-known Nutshell Series. These handy books provide the essentials of law for a given topic. The language is straightforward and clear, and each title highlights key cases and statutes.

REF. KF 352.H348 2011
This updated version includes the War on Terror and gender and marriage.

REF. KF4819 .K87 2014
Includes the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952, the Rules for Alien Terrorist Removal to U.S. Courts, and much more. A complete guide to U.S. immigration source material, including all the relevant acts, titles, and rules.

REF. KFM2475 .H36 2009
Discusses the basics of Massachusetts law, including statutes and session laws, structure of government, the judicial system, rules of court, administrative law, municipal law, and state tax law.

REF. DESK KFM2929 .A195
Annual.

REF. DESK KFM2929 .A165
Annual.

REF. KFM2540 .P73 2011
Offers practical guidance to Massachusetts estate planners. Includes descriptions of federal and state transfer tax structures, marital deduction planning, charitable and noncharitable giving, and life insurance. Covers medical directives, creditor protection, medical trusts, and marital agreements.

REF. KFM2734 .A3692M37 2015
Provides texts of pertinent state and federal statutes and regulations.

REF. KF9084 .A944 2005
A project of the ABA's Section of Litigation, this volume investigates issues faced by lawyers and clients in connection with ADR. Has a federal focus and includes discussion of established ADR procedures, arbitration agreements, ethics, enforcements, specific areas of law and more. Updated frequently.

REF. KF154 .A44 1996
Provides concise articles on a variety of American justice topics, including Supreme Court cases, federal legislation, historical events, and the civil and criminal justice system.

REF. K48 .L44 2002
A comparative study of national law and legal institutions. Alphabetically arranged by country and broad topic, each article is signed by an expert and includes a bibliography. Country articles include coverage of both court and national government structure.

REF. KF 320 .L4 N34 2014
A collection of techniques and procedures for use in teaching legal assistants or as a reference guide for working legal assistants.

REF. KF320 .L4.C37 2014
A study of legal ethics for the paralegal. The basic ethics rules discussed include unauthorized practice of law, conflicts of interest, confidentiality, competence, financial dealings with clients, advertising, and more.

Includes: Massachusetts Superior Court decisions.