Paralegal Resource Guide: Miscellaneous Legal Websites

Provided by Cornell University Law School, LII provides U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1990 and links to websites with prior Supreme Court cases. In addition, LII includes the U.S. Code, accessible by both popular name and by citation. LII's Wex, is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia, arranged alphabetically by category. Legal terms are explained and often primary source references (state and federal statutes, case law, agency regulations) are linked.

Washburn University School of Law (Washlaw) provides an index of sources of legal information available on the web. This site includes a gateway to federal government resources through DocLaw. Washlaw's RefLaw provides a vast number of quality legal reference sites available on the web.

Site of the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL). Allows searching of uniform acts, drafts, and legislation by state.

Full-text Model Rules from the ABA website.

This site includes full-text decisions and basic documents of the International Court of Justice, digests of the U. N. Commission on International Trade Law, preparatory documents from the International Criminal Court, and more.

The American Society of International Law provides a comprehensive guide of quality resources for international law. Covers subjects such as human rights, criminal law, economic law, environmental law, and more. Each topic includes an overview and links to primary and secondary resources on the Web.

Investigative Resource Center's links by state to databases of professional licensing agencies, real property records, corporate documents, state and local court records, state bar associations, and more.

Provides full-text of several hundred municipal codes by state. See General Code Publishers and MuniCodes for more free city codes online.