Massachusetts Legal Websites - Laws, Regulations, and Cases
- Statutes: General Laws of MassachusettsAlso find all state statutes in LexisNexis Academic.
- Session LawsSession laws or the Massachusetts Acts and Resolves are available and keyword searchable from 1997 to the present on the Commonwealth's site. Digitized and searchable Acts and Resolves from 1950s through 1996 are available at the State Library website.
- Senate and House billsThe text of Senate and House bills are also posted daily and are searchable.
- Massachusetts House and Senate JournalsThe Journals provide a daily record of bills which are introduced, amended or acted upon. Journals do not contain debate but do contain full-text of amendments offered on the floors. Choose Senate Journals or House Journals.
- Boston, Massachusetts. Code of OrdinancesProvided by the American Legal Publishers, this site allows browsing and searching of the city code. The code is current through 2004. Also, see the Massachusetts Trial Courts' page of links to Massachusetts city and town bylaws.
- Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR) at the Massachusetts Trial Court Law LibrariesThe entire Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR) is not available online, however some agencies have chosen to provide web access. For those agencies whose regulations are included, the CMR is provided by citation and by topic. The entire CMR is available in LexisNexis Academic.
- Massachusetts Judicial BranchThe Massachusetts Courts website includes news, laws, codes, rules, and more.
- The Social Law LibraryThe Social Law Library provides Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court and Appeals Court slip opinions from 1999 to date. Opinions are loaded daily. The Social Law Library also provides selected cases of the Massachusetts Superior Court from September 1999 to date.
- Case Law: Massachusetts Lawyers' WeeklyCurrent news is available for free. Archive searching requires log-in with a paid subscription.
- The Massachusetts Bankruptcy PageThe Massachusetts Bankruptcy Page, maintained by Craig & Macauley, provides Massachusetts Bankruptcy cases from 1995 to present.
A Guide to Tracing Massachusetts Legislative History
A guide to the resources offered by the State Library of Massachusetts for researchers of Massachusetts legislative history.
Librarian Contact
Where to find access to the Massachusetts General Laws
- General Laws (available through the Massachusetts Legislature)"General Laws are Session Laws or sections of Session Laws that are permanent in nature and of general application. General Laws are codified according to subject matter in a multi-volume publication entitled the General Laws of Massachusetts. [...] This site provides an unofficial version of the General Laws."
- General laws of Massachusetts byCall Number: LAW READING RM (FL 6), KFM2429 .M37Monthly cumulative pamphlets, until material is cumulated into permanent volumes.