Communication Resource Guide: Public Relations

This major trade weekly provides the latest news in the Public Relations industry. News is available only to paid subscribers, however this site offers a free, searchable directory of agencies, organizations, services and educational establishments.

"The Council of Public Relations Firms represents the business of public relations." The Industry Resources section includes free, full-text industry rankings, research studies, and other publications. The "Find-A-Firm" search area allows searching for PR firms by various criteria (including location, size, and industry sector).

PRSA, a major industry group, provides free, web-based current industry news, some full-text content from their magazine, Public Relations Strategist, and job listings. Some other content and resources are available only to members.

The IPR is an independent foundation that focuses on PR research and education. They link to publications related to the history, research, and best practices in the field. This site includes a speakers bureau and current news.

Founded in 1997 in New York City, the Museum tries to trace the history and impact of the Public Relations industry. Online exhibits detail the careers of some of the early leaders of the field: Edward L. Bernays, Moss Kendrix, Carl R. Byoir, Arthur W. Page, and Chester Burger.

This industry group provides limited materials on their website. The Research Foundation area offers some publications and reports for browsing, and the jobs area provides employment opportunities.

PR Newswire calls itself the "global leader in news and information distribution." Although some services are available only to clients, it allows browsing or searching of numerous examples of full-text news releases and PR multimedia. Another example of a PR distribution website can be found at PRWeb

This project of the Center for Media & Democracy "offers investigative reporting on the public relations industry" and promotes media that are "of, by and for the people." Projects include PR Watch, a quarterly investigative journal, and Spin of the Day. Provides lots of full-text news reports.