Communication Resource Guide: Associations and Societies

The APTS is a nonprofit organization which supports the growth of noncommercial television. Its website provides membership information, state and national research and statistics, legislative advocacy, and information on regulatory and litigation issues. Much of this material is available to members only.

Includes membership information, a collection of quality, annotated online resources, and full-text articles from the American Communication Journal.

A nonprofit organization of researchers, educators, students, and practitioners who aim to advance the field of communication. The site includes conference information and some full-text research documents.

The ICA "is an international association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of human and mediated communication." The site provides membership and conference information, a jobmart, and a newsletter for members only.

The Society of Professional Journalists is the country's largest journalism organization dedicated to maintaining the free practice of journalism and high standards of ethical behavior. The site provides the code of ethics, Freedom of Information basics, workshop information, awards, and current full-text articles from Quill.

Magazine for professional journalists.

The IABC is an international knowledge network for professionals involved in strategic business communication management. The website includes news, conference and workshop information, the Code of Ethics for Professional Communicators, and research summaries, provided by the IABC Research Foundation.

A professional organization for those who train American students in the fields of public speaking and reasoned discourse in public life. This website provides conference information, news, and organizational information.

This is a nonprofit, educational association which offers some full-text reports and texts of other publications, a database of scholars who focus on diversity issues, and membership information. The Visual Communication Division, focuses on the study of all forms of visual communication. Members represent photography, graphic design, film, broadcast and multimedia.

PRSA, a major industry group, provides free, web-based current industry news, some full-text content from their magazine, Public Relations Strategist, and job listings. Some other content and resources are available only to members.

NAB is a trade association representing the interests of free, over-the-air radio and television broadcasters. The website includes news, event information, and job board. Also offers legal and regulatory information and some full-text research reports.

The AAAA is the "national trade association representing the advertising agency business in the United States." Website provides conference information, news, career assistance, and transcripts of speeches.

The WIPO is an international organization that promotes the use and protection of intellectual property. This website provides full-text standards, guides, reports, treaties, legal texts, articles, and data.