Finding Library Books
Enter Title, Author, or Keyword in the Suffolk University Library Catalog.
Results may be printed books, ebooks (online access), or journal titles (both print and online).
Indexes
- Index to Journals in Communication Studies through 1995REF. P87 .M37 1997
Indexes articles from 24 communication journals by subject. Includes keyword and author indexes.
Selected Print & Online Resources: Encyclopedias
- Communication Yearbook (Print)P87 .C5974
Provides reviews of the latest scholarly communication research. Periodical. - Encyclopedia of Communication and Information. 3 vols.Online through Gale Virtual Reference
REF. P87.5 .E53 2001 (print)
Contains 280 articles covering every aspect of the study of communication and information, and it is arranged in eight broad topics. The topics are careers, information science, information technologies, literacy, institutional studies, interpersonal communication, library science, and media effects. Articles are signed and include bibliographies. Also available online in - Encyclopedia of Public Relations 2 vols.Online in Gale Virtual Reference and in Sage eReference
REF. HD59 .E48 2005 (print)
This two-volume set contains comprehensive articles covering every aspect of public relations. Each article is signed and contains extensive bibliographies. - International Encyclopedia of Communications. 4 vols.REF. P87.5 .I5 1989
Jointly published by the Annenburg School of Communication at the University of Pennsylvania and Oxford University Press, this set provides broad coverage of the field of communication, including advertising, area studies, speech, theory, nonverbal forms, photography, and much more. All articles are signed and include bibliographies. - Encyclopedia of New MediaOnline through Sage eReference
Topics include broadband, content filtering, cyberculture, cyberethics, digital divide, MP3, privacy, telemedicine, viruses, and wireless networks. - Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising. 3 vols.REF. HF5803 .A38 2003
Essays are divided into four broad categories- Agency histories; advertiser/brand/market histories; biographies; theoretical, methodological, and practical articles on advertising. Arranged alphabetically. - Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular CultureOnline through Gale Virtual Reference
This work analyzes the intersection between popular culture, politics, and media in the United States., The encyclopedia concentrates more on developments since the dawn of the twentieth century, - Encyclopedia of Social Movement MediaOnline through Sage eReference
Features 250 essays on the experiences of social movement media over the worldin the 20th and 21st centuries. - Encyclopedia of Major Marketing CampaignsOnline through Gale Virtual Reference
This encyclopedia includes nearly 1,000 essays, each on an important advertising campaign of the twentieth century. - Encyclopedia of RhetoricOnline through Oxford Reference
Provides entries, written by scholars combining classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion.
Dictionaries - Print & Online
- Critical Dictionary of Film and Television TheoryREF. PN1993.45 .C75 2001
Provides an authoritative introduction to key concepts in the field. Major entries offer essays on conceptual terms (2,000-3,000 words). Minor entries are defined in relation to usage (100-700 words). Biographical entries include lists of major publications. - Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary TheoryREF. PN41 .C83 1998
A comprehensive dictionary of literary terms in current use, covering categories such as technical terms, forms, genres, movements, themes, and personalities. - Dictionary of Media and CommunicationOnline through Oxford Reference
Provides over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms. - Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and CommunicationsREF. P87.5 .D36 2000
Defines terms, concepts, people, schools of thought, and historical movements that appear in literature. Each entry includes the term origin plus cross-references. - Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies 6th Ed.REF. P87.5 .W38 2003 (print)
2012 Edition Online
Covers a vast array of topics, including advertising, broadcasting, media ethics, communication theory, gender issues, and technologies. Also provides information on legislation and programs of study. - Dictionary of MarketingOnline through Oxford Reference
Provides entries on topics including terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leading marketing concepts.
Handbooks - Print & Online
- Corporate Communications HandbookREF. KF1449 .W352 2009
This is a legal guide to press releases and other informal disclosure for public corporations. Includes sample press releases, forms, and source materials. - Global Public Relations HandbookHM1221 .G57 2009
Provides a comprehensive theoretical framework for studying public relations around the world. Chapters are organized by continent and cover history, development, and current status of the public relations industry in countries and regions. - Handbook of Public RelationsREF. HD59 .H267 2001
Covers global topics, management issues, theory, law, best practices, and more. Includes a bibliography. - 21st Century Communication: A Reference HandbookOnline through Sage eReference
This set divides communication study into four basic properties: 1) processes, 2) forms and types of communication, 3) characteristics to consider in creating messages, and 4) relationships between communicators. Highlights the most important topics, issues, and questions. - Encyclopedia of Public RelationsOnline through Sage Reference
A major reference source for patrons in business, communication, and journalism. Covers events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession, and much more. - The Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law (Associated Press)REF. PN4783 .A83 2008
A usage guide and reference book for terms and topics common in news writing. Includes a section on fundamental principles of libel law and First Amendment principles. - The SAGE Handbook of Media StudiesOnline through Sage eReference
Discusses the theories, practices, and future of this field. - Style Manual for Communication StudiesREF. DESK P96 .A68S89 2009
Provides a comprehensive description of scholarly journals in communication and condensed MLA and APA Style Guides. - Sage Handbook of Conflict CommunicationOnline through Sage eReference
Combines key theories, research, and practices of conflict communication in a variety of contexts. - Sage Handbook of Gender and CommunicationOnline through Sage eReference
Discusses theories and research, as well as directions for future scholarship.
Directories
- Advertising Red Book.REF. HF5805 .S7
Contains information on U.S. and international advertisers who spend $200,000 annually. Includes advertising expenditures by media, agency, fiscal year-end, and annual sales, contact information, SIC classifications, and more. Annual. - Broadcasting and Cable YearbookREF. DESK HF6146 .R3.B73
A communication research guide for the television industry. Provides an industry overview and company listings for radio, TV, cable, and satellite owners. Includes market statistics. - Editor & Publisher International Year BookREF. DESK PN4700 .E4
Provides directory information for daily newspapers in the United States and throughout the world. Covers newspaper groups, syndicates, associations, trade organizations, and industry-related products and services. - O'Dwyer's Directory of Public Relations FirmsREF. HM263 .O37 2005
Contains nearly 3,000 public relations firms and departments of advertising agencies. Provides rankings and cross-references. Annual. - Bacon's Media Directories:These directories provide editorial content, journalist profiles, and contact information for over 140,000 media outlets.
- Bacon's Magazine DirectoryREF. DESK Z286.P4 B33
- Bacon's Newspaper DirectoryREF DESK Z286.N48 B33
- Bacon's Radio DirectoryREF. DESK Z286.R33 B33
- Bacon's TV/cable directoryREF. DESK Z286.T45 B33
Speeches
- Great Speakers and Speeches. 3rd Ed.REF. PN6121 .G73 1996b
This anthology is arranged in four parts: Oratory in Classical Antiquity, the Golden Age of Antiquity, Oratory in the Modern Era, and Oratory in Contemporary America. Each speech is introduced with a headnote, discussing historic and symbolic context. Footnotes and further reading are also included with each speech. - Great Speeches for Criticism and Analysis. 4th Ed.REF. PN6122 .G74 2001
Contains largely political speeches, including background information and detailed critical analysis for each. - Lend Me Your EarsREF. PN6122 .L4 2004
Contains historic speeches arranged by broad topic. - Speeches of the American Presidents. 2nd Ed.REF. J81.4 .S64 2001
Contains more than 200 major speeches by the 43 presidents of the United States from George Washington to George W. Bush's inauguration. - Speeches in World HistoryAvailable online through Gale Virtual Reference
The speeches cover the time period from the beginning of ancient civilization in the Middle East to the 21st century and are the work of people ranging from kings to the ordinary. Contains more than 200 speeches. - Voices of Multicultural AmericaREF. PS663 .M55.v64 1996
A collection of important speeches delivered by African Americans, Native Americans, Hispanic Americans, and Asian Americans from the late 1700's to early 1995. Includes more than 130 speechmakers. - Words that Shook the WorldREF. PN6122 .G75 2002
Twenty selected speeches, each including background history and highlights about the speaker's life. - Great American Speeches: 80 Years of Political Oratory videorecording (6 videocassettes)Sawyer Videos PS668 .G7 1999
Traces the history of visually recorded American oratory, starting with a 1912 speech by Theodore Roosevelt, and ending with 1984 speeches by Mario Cuomo and Jesse Jackson. - Great Speeches: The Video SeriesSawyer Videos PN6122 .G7+
Covers speeches of current women executives and politicians and past U.S. presidents, as well as other famous orators.
