Communication Resource Guide: Advertising and Marketing

This is the website for the major advertising and marketing trade journal, Advertising Age. The website includes news and some special reports.

The Advertising Council is the industry group that conducts ad campaigns for the public good. This website provides information on current and historical campaigns.

The American Marketing Association is one of the largest professional associations for marketers. Their "marketingPower" website provides articles & reports, marketing tools, and a section on best practices. Some of the information is available only to members, but many of the resources can be accessed by nonmembers, as well.

AdForum says that it is "the Internet’s leading portal to the advertising, marketing and communications industry, with direct links to 18,000 agencies in 136 countries." "Ad-Folio" search finds details (like agency) on a particular brand ad campaign, but a reproduction of the ad is not free. The Ad Firm Search allows the location of firms, by specialty, geography, and size. Not a lot of details are provided, but there is a link to the company's website, where available.

A database of 9,000 images relating to the early history of U.S. advertising. Materials are drawn from the Rare Book Manuscript and Special Collections Library at Duke University. Allows browsing and keyword searching.

"The leading database of key magazine planning resources," Mediamark, makes its basic information about media available without charge, as long as the reader registers for a free account. Provides user-created reports and working lists. Note: Suffolk student and faculty can also access the more useful "Mediamark Reporter," which covers product and brand demographics, as well as media data. To access this area you MUST sign up using a Suffolk email address (with a domain extension of "suffolk.edu