Communication Resource Guide: Speech and Rhetoric

A large index of political speeches. Includes Presidential inaugural addresses, speeches-by-date, documents, and debates. Provides both print and audio resources. Some outstanding links include PresidentialRhetoric.com, and History and Politics Out Loud .

This Library of Congress site contains the papers of the nineteenth-century African-American abolitionist and orator, Frederick Douglass, and covers the years 1841 to 1964. The archive includes the texts of speeches, articles, correspondence, and more.

Produced by Michael E. Eidenmuller, this website contains a "database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews," and other recorded media events. Includes short audio clips of over 200 speeches, movies, popular songs, and sensational media events by famous people, for the purpose of illustrating rhetorical devices. Provides links to news, court cases, and journals.

Sweet Briar College provides this searchable database of women's rhetoric. Browse or search by name. Speakers include people such as Bella Abzug, Princess Diana, and Begum Khaleda Zia.

Provides searchable texts of famous speeches, covering the time of Ancient Greece through the year 1905. Includes more than 280 speeches.

Maintained by the University of Kentucky's Modern and Classical Language Department, this is a useful website that provides definitions and examples of over 40 traditional rhetorical devices and terms.