Communication Resource Guide: Schools and Institutes

Links to events and prizes, including the Pulitzer and Cabot, news, full-text student work, and professional development information. Also links to full-text articles from the Columbia Journalism Review.

The Annenberg Public Policy Center conducts research which focuses on the intersection of media, communication, and public policy. Research areas include political communication, information and society, media and the developing child, health communication, and adolescent risk. "Research Areas" include free reports and releases.

The Poynter Institute is a professional school for journalists. Poynteronline allows full-text article searching. The Resource Center provides links to excellent journalistic resources, covering topics such as politics, media ethics, crime reporting, and centers and schools.

Provided by the Center for Advanced Technology in Education at the University of Oregon's College of Education, this website offers archived links to full-text articles form the Media Literacy Review and an excellent gateway of links to the media literacy organizations, teaching resources, online journals, and research guides.

An excellent site with 40 pages of annotated resources. Includes organizational links, news, teaching resources, media law resources, gender and race studies, listservs, and online newsletters. Unfortunately it is no longer maintained.

The UCLA Center for Communication Policy joined the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Southern California to create the Center for the Digital Future at USC Annenberg. This Center conducts research in media and communications, including the World Internet Project and other programs. The site offers texts of reports and projects.

"The mission of the Benton Foundation is to articulate a public interest vision for the digital age and to demonstrate the value of communications for solving social problems." Current research includes promoting policy alternatives for the digital age in which the public benefits and enabling communities and nonprofits to produce diverse and responsive media content. The Benton Virtual Library allows free online access to many publications since 1995.

The Center serves as "a forum for ideas on media and public policy through public opinion research." The website includes full-text reports, surveys, commentary, data, and news.

"CogWeb is a research tool for exploring the relevance of the study of human cognition to communication and the arts. It is edited by Francis Steen, assistant professor in Communication Studies at UCLA." Areas include Debate, Cognitive Science, Evolutionary Psychology, Cultural Studies, and Discourse. Not regularly updated.